Flood Zone Designations

Flood hazard areas identified on the Flood Insurance Rate Map are identified as a Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA). SFHA are defined as the area that will be inundated by the flood event having a 1-percent chance of being equaled or exceeded in any given year. The 1-percent annual chance flood is also referred to as the base flood or 100-year flood. SFHAs are labeled as Zone A, Zone AO, Zone AH, Zones A1-A30, Zone AE, Zone A99, Zone AR, Zone AR/AE, Zone AR/AO, Zone AR/A1-A30, Zone AR/A, Zone V, Zone VE, and Zones V1-V30. Moderate flood hazard areas, labeled Zone B or Zone X (shaded) are also shown on the FIRM, and are the areas between the limits of the base flood and the 0.2-percent-annual-chance (or 500-year) flood. The areas of minimal flood hazard, which are the areas outside the SFHA and higher than the elevation of the 0.2-percent-annual-chance flood, are labeled Zone C or Zone X (unshaded).

Glossary of Terms

Base Flood Elevation (BFE)

The elevation shown on the FIRM for flood zones: AE, AH, A1-A30, AR, AR/A, AR/AE, AR/A1-A30, AR/AH, AR/AO, V1-V30, and VE that shows the water surface elevation resulting from a flood that has a 1% chance of equaling or exceeding that level in any given year.

Commercial Properties

Can be classified as Non-Residential or Other Residential.

Conditional Letter of Map Amendment (CLOMA)

A decision by FEMA on whether or not a proposed building project would be excluded from the SFHA.

Elevation Certificate

A certificate that verifies the elevation data of a structure on a given property relative to the ground level. It is used to ensure compliance with local flood plain management ordinances and also to rate flood insurance policies.


Federal Emergency Management Agency


Federal Insurance & Mitigation Administration

Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM)

The official map of a community on which the Mitigation Division Administrator has delineated both the special hazard areas and the risk premium zones applicable to the community.

Letter of Map Amendment (LOMA)

A letter which is an official amendment to an effective NFIP map, which establishes a structure’s location in relation to the SFHA.


National Flood Insurance Program

Preliminary Evaluation

LDP analyzes the placement of your structure(s) in the SFHA and the area around it to determine if it is beneficial for you to proceed with our process. LDP substantiates your chances for success with structures nearby that had the requirement to carry Flood Insurance lifted. The Preliminary Evaluation gives LDP a clear understanding of your particular situation and the factors affecting your structure(s).

Preferred Risk Policy (PRP)

A flood insurance policy for properties located in the B, C, & X-Zones that meet certain eligibility requirements. A PRP offers fixed combinations of building/contents coverage or contents only coverage at low, fixed premiums.

Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA)

An area that is found to have a high flood risk, as determined by FEMA, in which flood insurance is mandatory for structures. Includes flood zones: A, AO, A1-A30, AE, A99, AH, AR, AR/A, AR/AE, AR/AH, AR/AO, AR/A1-A30, V1-V30, VE, and V.

Standard Flood Insurance Policy (SFIP)

A flood policy issued to insure a building and/or its contents.